48 Hour Book Challenge: Finish Line

Time spent reading: 17 hours
Time spent blogging/Twittering/blog reading: 4.5 hours
Total challenge time: 21.5 hours
Books read: 9
Pages read: 2022

The books: Emma-Jean Lazarus Fell in Love, The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Chalice, The Fruit Bowl Project, Savvy, Edward’s Eyes, The Hunger Games, Janes in Love, Masterpiece

I’m going to wait until the challenge closes completely and winners are declared to figure out my total donation for Brooklyn Public Library, so please comment if you want to show the public library some love! (And thanks so much to everyone who’s stopped by so far… it’s great to virtually meet you.)

Thoughts: It rocked. I slightly exceeded my time goal (20 hours) while falling short on my book goal (10), but the experience of blogging steadily, keeping up a Twitter stream as a motivational tool, and, best of all, joining a really fun active community of readers. It was great to find new school and YA librarian blogs for company and to generally swell the progress of my GoogleReader subscriptions.

Mental notes for next year: I need to be better about mixing longer books that I’m simply dying to read with short books that I can plow through just to up my page count. I can get through a short book of any quality fast content in the knowledge that it will be over soon, but a longer book I’m not that into will really slow me down. I read fast, but not as fast as I thought I did. I’m simply in awe of the quantity of reading some participants were capable of this weekend, so I’ll set slightly higher goals, but not get too cocky. Reading in the evening without caffeine or someone to prod me awake is a bad idea. I probably could have finished two more books in the time I lost to naps that snuck up on me.

My best piece of advice for the future: NEVER LAY DOWN during the challenge unless you’re planning to go to bed. Seriously, don’t even put your head down. Not even just for a second, with your phone alarm set just in case. You’re not fooling anyone, Nappy McNapperburg. Also, eating some vegetables at some point during the weekend couldn’t hurt. Man cannot read on sugary and salty snacks alone.

Published in: on June 7, 2009 at 10:14 pm  Comments (15)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dreadfulpenny.wordpress.com/2009/06/07/48-hour-book-challenge-finish-line/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great reading! I found jelly beans to be quite helpful in the wee hours of the morning. Thanks for playing!

    • The sugary snacks may have actually been my undoing… I had a headache all day Sunday until I became reacquainted with salad. THANKS FOR HOSTING! You rock.

  2. I came in just behind you in the time and # of books read. I really enjoyed the whole thing!! Glad to help you raise money for the library too. I’ve got you on my blogroll now.

    • Next year we should race 🙂 I had a blast, and I’m really glad to have done all that reading for a cause. Ditto for the blogroll!

  3. Great job, I hope to see you participating again next year!

    • Thanks (and you too… wow!) I’m definitely in for next year.

  4. Congrats on your reading for the 48HBC. This was my first one so next time I’ll do things a little different. Reading short books really helped me, I felt a sense of accomplishment everytime I finished one. But I’m pretty sure I gained three pounds as a result of M&Ms, Twizzlers and Coke diet!

    • Short books really boosted my morale… the long books that I wasn’t in love with felt epic when trying to get through them marathon-style. Next year, only short books and absolute surefire hits.

  5. You have more fortitude than I. Sleep deprivation makes me so loopy I can’t figure out what those funny squiggles on that flat papery surface are. I’m amazed at the people who literally read 48 hours straight.

    Anyway, congrats on finishing and I’m glad I found your blog through this!

    • I got a surprisingly satisfying amount of sleep Friday night and a really long nap Saturday evening, so my late night reading wasn’t too brutal. I think I’d do better attempting to stay up all night if it was the summer and I was on break. And thanks for visiting… I love your blog!

  6. congratulations. I see you read 3 of my favorites: The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Savvy, and Hunger Games. Hope you participate next year.

    • I’m really glad I saved Savvy and Hunger Games for the challenge. I liked them so much that they seemed to fly by. And, since I waited so long to read Hunger Hames, now my wait for Catching Fire won’t seem so bad…

  7. I love your advice (and your book choices). I found I could lie down occasionally, but only if the book was really good. I’ve decided next year I need to save some book that I’m really really really dying to read (something like Catching Fire) for my late-night reading. Because I had trouble with falling asleep, too.

    Extra-fun to find another Masterpiece reader out there in the challenge. Have a great week!!

    • Good to know there were other sleepyheads out there! Staying up late on a Friday after a full day of school was brutal.

      Thanks for stopping by, and I love your blog!

  8. Yeah, I took too many naps when I did this last year. I had massive jet lag this year, so I knew not to even try…


Leave a Reply

