48 Hour Book Challenge: Starting Line

Here we go! I’m officially throwing my hat in the ring at 6:00 p.m. with Emma-Jean Lazarus Fell in Love by Lauren Tarshis (started on the train ride home).  So my marathon will last from 6 p.m. Friday to 6 p.m. Sunday. Here are the official rules (although I’m betting anyone reading this is doing the challenge themselves). I’m willing myself to remember the #48hbc tag when Twittering.

After much thought, I’ll be reading to raise money for Brooklyn Public Library. Because I love them, I practically live there, they’re in tough times, and because libraries are bastions of democratic thought, people! I’ll be donating $1.00 for every book read, $1.00 for every hour spent reading, $.25 for every Twitter tweeted, and $.25 for every comment left on a 48HBC blog entry.

Published in: on June 5, 2009 at 6:35 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dreadfulpenny.wordpress.com/2009/06/05/48-hour-book-challenge-starting-line/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved the first Emma Jean Lazarus book. I’ve heard some people say EJL could an Asperger’s kid–what do you think after reading book 2?

    • I loved book 2 (with mild reservations)! I’m not sure about where Emma-Jean is on the autism spectrum, actually. Sometimes I think she definitely has Asperger’s, and other times I think she’s just a very logical little girl in a world of girl-y girls. I actually like that about Tarshis, though, that she doesn’t tack on a diagnosis or make anything explicit, but just lets her characters create a world around their own personalities.

  2. Well, definitely put in a quarter on my behalf! I didn’t get organized enough to raise money for a cause– maybe next year. Good luck with your reading.

    • Thanks so much!

  3. Good luck with the challenge. What a great book to begin with, the first one was so much fun.

  4. Oh gosh, I’m reminded that I wanted to read Emma-Jean myself…oh well. It’s not as if I don’t have enough to read, but I liked the first one ever so much.

  5. […] Room 51. Blog from the Windowsill 52. Lori 53. Julie 54. Shonda 55. Kristi (The Story Siren) 56. Dreadful Penny 57. Briana (What Bri Reads) 58. Muttix 59. Paige Y. 60. Milly Marie 61. Tricia (Miss Rumphius) 62. […]

  6. Oh, I do want to read those books sometime! Happy reading.

    • You should! They’re both lovely (and probably could be read in about an hour or two a piece, making them perfect for the 48HBC 🙂 )

  7. Hey I am glad to hear you are raising money for the public library! I am offering a prize to the person who raises the most money and it sounds like you are doing great!

    I read the first Emma Jean book last night and didn’t really love it to pieces. I am interested in your take.

    Keep on reading!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m gonna trot on over to your blog and chime in on Emma-Jean.


Leave a Reply

