Bloggiesta Wrap-Up

Hello, Pedro (and Maw Books). Here’s my Bloggiesta wrap-up:

Hours spent blogging/Twittering/reading & commenting on blogs: 10

Tasks completed:

  • First post of the year here at Dreadful Penny: Bloggiesta, Resolution-ish, and Book Blogging in General
  • Long Gchat with Diablevert in preparation for our next Along with a Hammer post
  • Signed up to be a Powell’s Partner (less for the piles of cash that I’m sure are about to come pouring through that little linky, and more for an easier way to upload quick links to books and book jackets)
  • Signed up for Evernote to keep track of all the logins and bits of info I always seem to need whenever I’m blogging, then lose track of
  • Started a page for all my 2010 reading challenges, which is in draft form now, but I hope to complete and make live this week
  • Ummm… worked on this wrap-up? Ooh, and all these mini-challenges…

Mini-challenges completed:

* Rebecca from The Book Lady’s Blog – 2010 Resolutions: My laissez-faire manifesto was my first post of the year, and kicked off my Bloggiesta participation.
* Pam from MotherReader – Comment Challenge: Entered and enthusiastically begun (although there was perhaps some cheating with the comments left in the Bloggiesta mini-challenge posts being counted… but I think that’s OK, right?). I got my ten in to complete this mini-challenge and will do my best to keep up for the rest of January (and thanks to folks who’ve stopped by to comment here!)
* Danielle from There’s a Book – Cheatsheets: Made cheatsheets for the two memes I’ve done in the past, and hope to participate in more in the future (Weekly Geeks and What Are They Reading?), made a trial cheetsheet for future Goodreads round-up posts, and recorded some basic info about my pages and sidebar in case I ever majorly screw something up.
* Pam from Bookalicio.us – Copyright & Footers: You can’t really get your copyright notice into the footer on your WordPress-hosted blog without upgrading and futzing with the stylesheets, so you’ll find mine on the bottom of my sidebar.
* Beth from Beth Fish Reads – Categories & Labels: My tags were not too bad, but even the few labels I had suffered from obscurantism and coquettishness. No need to be coy, so I cleaned them up and streamlined, for the most part.
* Jackie from Farm Lane Books – Back It Up: Actually just figured out how to do this the other day with another blog, so now completed for this and Along with a Hammer.
* Karin from Karin’s Book Nook – Dead Link Hunt: My results were, frankly, inconclusive, as the two link checkers I tried threw up all sorts of weird results and internal server errors that I think had very little to do with the average visitor’s experience with the site. But, I still consider this one completed.
* Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves – Brainstorming Blogging Topics: This was easy… writing the posts will be the hard part.

Most of the work was spent on this blog, but I’m adding some baby steps to my to-do list for Along with a Hammer and my professional blogs. The best part of many of the mini-challenges is that they really don’t take all that much time, and you feel so productive after completing them (which is pretty much the exact input/output ratio for effort/reward that keeps me motivated).

Since Weekly Geeks this week was also devoted to bloggish/bookish housekeeping, I’m going to figure that this post can count for that too. (Multitasking!)

Published in: on January 11, 2010 at 5:55 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://dreadfulpenny.wordpress.com/2010/01/11/bloggiesta-wrap-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great job! You really accomplished a lot! I’m so glad you were able to make use of the cheat sheet challenge! It was a lot of fun putting it together and seeing where everyone took it. I hope it helps a lot in the future!
    Way to go with everything!

  2. Wow, you did a lot this weekend! Excellent!

  3. I am in awe of how much you’ve accomplished. I’m feeling quite lazy in comparison. :)

  4. Once you are rolling around in that Powell’s cash, you’ll have to share. I think I’ve made $2.50 in the past six months. LOL I’m glad you enjoyed the Bloggiesta!

  5. So much to do – so little time.

    Looks like you’ve accomplished a lot.

  6. You really did a lot to your blog. I will check out your books and reviews on Goodreads.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

